Sensory Input :: Zero

Sensory deprivation tanks are so amazing! For those who are unfamiliar with them here’s a brief description of the place my wife and I go to. It’s called the Art of Floating in Bloomsburg, PA. We tend to call ahead and book an appointment in advance. Once you have you time set and arrive accordingly someone greets you at the door. It’s a bit like a check-in at a hotel or possibly another spa like facility; I haven’t been to many. After you have checked-in and paid the person at the front desk you then take your shoes off place them on a shoe rack nearby and begin to walk to your own personal float room guided by the person from the front desk.

Once inside the room turn around, lock the door, and the hour(ish) is yours. In this room there is a towel rack, a dark bronze shower setup, a toilet and a take with 8 inches of water with about 1000 pounds of Epsom salt dissolved into it. Prior to entering the tank there you must take a shower. After your shower, the choice to put a bathing suit on or stay in your birthday suit is up to you. Personally I enjoy sans-clothing to get the sensation of the warm water becoming my skin as I drift into oblivion. The last bit of the pre-float ritual is putting in  wax ear plugs to prevent your ears from getting filled with salt water. After all this is said an done you are ready to hop in!

The tank has a door that you can choose whether to keep open or shut. The room is equipped with an occupancy sensor that will turn off the lights after no movement is detected for a certain amount of time. Occasionally you can hear the hum of the air conditioner unit on the wall but it has never detracted from my float. The water is at a warm temperature around 92.3 degrees to match that of the outside temperature of skin. The extreme amount of salt in the water allows you to float effortlessly. With my consistent back pain it helps get things aligned and back to copacetic.

In my experience it never feels like the one hour that elapses. The float session lets you lay in your thoughts until they are exhausted and there becomes a point where your  mind will make new thoughts out of the nothingness around you. The transition to a sleep state in this tank is practically seamless. The journey inside the tank is different every time and for every person. It ends when the light inside the tank turns on. I never saw the light turn on. I always remember laying and wandering into a half awake dream state. Then when I finally remember that I’m not in space hopping off planets to an Enya song, I realise that the light is on and my time to shower and put my clothes back on has arrived. Should you bring a friend or significant other to a float session, you can set up an appointment for multiple rooms and afterwards discuss what your group experienced on your journey in what is called the tea room.

The tea room is basically a living room with super comfy couches that you can sit and drink tea or water and relax some more with your friends and talk about your thoughts on anything. I would sit here with my wife for usually around 15 to 20 minutes and have never felt rushed to leave. The first time we went the person who led us to our rooms came out to the tea room and we all just sat and talked about random stuff. Basically anything that comes to mind when you are first meeting someone.

In such a short passage I cannot do this place enough justice. It is an experience you must have at least once and for what feels like a consistent sale of $35 a float per person (I believe $60-65 for full price) you can make a quick day of it.

Here’s a link :

The Art of Floating Bloomsburg, PA

Daily Prompt: Float

Fundamental!

Boy is reading that! I’m half-way into Stephen King’s ‘On Writing’ and I just love his style of writing so far. I’ve never read any of his books before this. Honestly I’m fairly new to reading as a hobby but I am really enjoying the experiences. There is a brief part of ‘On Writing’ that describes writing as a form of telepathy. That is so spot on it has completely replaced my whole thought process on the activity. Prior to reading this book, I would imagine writing as a form of time capsule for my memories. I can barely remember things as it is but I can remember pictures and scenes pretty well. I usually start off with painting a scene in my mind and just write what I see and go with the flow. Several times I have been caught off guard as to how a scenario would pan out. That is a feeling of blowing my own mind is hilarious, exciting, and I hope to continue on that path.